Ezell, Shalonda (aka Mary Ella Homes and Provider Services)

Doing Business As: Shalonda Ezell Mary Ella Homes and Provider Services
Website: www.maryellahomes@yahoo.com
Currently serving individuals with developmental disabilities.
Currently seeking referrals.
Independent Provider

Locations

2726 Lawrence Toledo, Ohio 43610

Toledo , Ohio 43610
Main: 419 245 8742
Fax: 419 469 2457
Other 419720 4932
[ Map It ]

Contacts

Services

Individual Budget/Private Pay

Supported Living

Level One Waiver

Home Maker Personal Care
Transportation

Level One Waiver: Adult Day Services

Transportation Non-Medical

Individual Options Waiver

Adult Foster Care
Community Respite
Home Maker Personal Care
Residential Respite
Transportation

Individual Options Waiver: Adult Day Services

Transportation Non-Medical

Self Empowered Life Funding Waiver (SELF-Waiver)

Community Inclusion Transportation
Community Inclusion-Personal Assistance
Community Respite
Residential Respite

Self Empowered Life Funding Waiver (SELF-Waiver): Adult Day Services

Transportation Non-Medical

References

Name: Lisa Guido
Phone: 419 699 9257
Address: toledo ohio 43602
Email:
Name: Erica Martin
Phone: 419 297 1234
Address: toledo ohio
Email:
Name: Sally Avalos
Phone: 419 764 1611
Address: TOLEDO OHIO
Email:

Documents

No Documents Found

Independant Profile

a) Describe your philosophy of providing services and supports to individuals with disabilities.

My philosophy of providing services and support to individuals with disabilities are, provide a dependable service to all individuals served. I will enhance the abilities of each individual served. I will support and Nurture each individual with outstanding care and growth. I will do these services by treating others with dignity,respect,compassion,integrity, and a love of togetherness.

b) Describe yourself and your background/experience with individuals with disabilities.

I am a 40 year old African American Woman. Im the mother of five children ages 24-13. I have seven wonderful grandchildren. I am a patient and compassionate person that enjoy helping others. I was raised in my grandmothers home with a Mentally Challenged Uncle, who is now 66yrs old and still lives at home. As a young girl I attended all the Christmas parties and dances held by The Lucas County Board of Developmental Disabilities. This experience gave me the goal and desire to want to work in this field. I helped my grandmother take care of my uncle along with my Aunties. My grandmother is now deceased and we promised her that we would always take care of him. In her honor and care for my Uncle, I decided to open up my own home and call it Mary Ella Homes and Provider Services,due to the fact she always took care of him at home. In 1997 I became a certified habilitation technician of The Lucas County Board of Developemental Disabilities (Lott Industries) (1997-August 2005). Para Professional of Toledo Public Schools,(2000-2003). State Nursing Assistant,(2006-Current). Direct Care Staff for the Sunshine Childrens Home (2009-January 22,2013). Home Health Aide for Griswald Special Care (2005-Current-work hours only if I choose too). Harbor Behavorial Quest program as a substitute(October 1 2012-Current). I have experience with Job Coaching Skills, One to One Instruction, Assistance with Supervision and Coordination of ten or more people,having mild or low mental disabilities, in habilitation training. Assist with personal and other daily living needs, assist with crisis intervention when necessary. Assist with development and implementation of Individual Plan(IP). Assist and provide services to the chronically ill, disabled,or recuperating patient within his or her home. Assist with One to One training and care of daily living skills. Provide training through modeling,shaping and one to one instruction. Responsible for assistance and support with basic needs such as eating,bathing, and movement to get back to restored function. Assist and provide transportation to doctors appointment and personal needs like grocery shopping and activities.

c) Describe any specialized training or education you have received to prepare you to work with individuals with disabilities. Describe any areas of expertise.

Currently Certified in CPR and First Aid Training,Universal Precautions, MUI training and Right of Person with Developmental Disabilities and Specialized Support. Manual and Mechanical Lifting.Philosophy of care,MUI,Abuse and Neglect Incident Report Writing, Range of Motion and Positioning,Positive intervention tools, Sensory Training and Med Pass Certified. My level of expertise is one to one social interaction.

d) Are you certified by the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities to provide medication administration?

Yes

e) Describe your availability and flexibility in scheduling services and supports for individuals with disabilities. (Days and hours available, areas of Lucas County you are willing to provide services, etc)

I am available anytime seven days a week. I can provide any type of care or services. Im flexible thru out the day to work around anyone schedule.

f) Are you available days?

Yes

g) Are you available evenings?

Yes

h) Are you available weekends?

Yes

i) How long have you been providing certified homemaker personal care services in Lucas County to individuals with developmental disabilities?

7 or more years

j) How many individuals do you serve in Lucas County?

5 or more

k) Describe how services will be provided in the event of your illness or emergency.

Mary Ella Homes is a small agency, therefore I have certified staff to replace me in case of illness or emergency. If a situation like this occur I would contact the individual and inform them of the situation, and give them the option to be cared for by a certified replacement or make the hours up at a later time upon request of chosen date.

l) Describe how you would address individual or family concerns.

I would address any concern in a timely matter with respect and integrity. I would help solve any concerns with empathy in mind and heart, providing a solution that will help the individual, family and myself.

m) Describe specific strategies for increasing community inclusion and involvement for individuals served.

It is my belief if we can create more enclave jobs in the community, individuals would have extra money to do recreational programs that involve daily activities in the community. I once supervised a enclave at a cookie factory and I witnesses individuals feel important and needed for a service to others, therefore they enjoyed their job and always attempted to do it right. As they worked and listened to the radio,when the song by R.Kelly "I believe I can fly" came on they all song in harmony and happiness and thats the type of community inclusion we need, more created recreational activities and job placement programs that give them the choice to pick and decide what they would like to do. It has always been and thought and goal of mine to one day own a building just like the Boys and Girls club of Ohio and offer activities, games, transportation, trips, parties, social networking skills, social media and team sports to the consumers who wanted to be a member of what I would call "Community of Chance Men and Women Club". It is my belief that with a club like this offered to Consumers who have worked during the day or attended a day program and would like to continue their day with more community involvement, activities and socializing with peers instead of going home with not much to do would be greatly appreciated to be involved in as a member.

n) Include here any information about you that you want shared with an individual, family or guardian that will assist him/her to decide whether you are the best choice of provider.

I am a trained Provider that work cooperatively with anyone I encounter. I will carry out any goals and objectives outlined in the Individual Plan. My Personal Interest is assisting individuals with Supportive Living and Communication skills. I enjoy taking individuals out in the community and doing activities of there choice. It makes me happy to help and provide a service to someone that need assistance to obtain enjoyment in there life. My motto that I live by when Im assisting a individual is "free to be me". I will fullfill this gesture by maintaing personal and safe care with fun and excitement.

- Indicate days & times:

After 7 a.m.-until daily, and Im available for any night time care.

- Indicate days & times:

After 7 a.m. daily-Until /24 hour care

- Indicate days & times:

After 7 a.m. daily-Until /24 hour care

- When did you begin providing services in Lucas County (month/year)

December 1997